Holy Names University
HNU Homepage
Academics

Returning to School? Come to Info Night!
Come enjoy our classical concerts at Holy Names University!

Music Faculty

Gemma Arguelles, M.M.

Lecturer in Music
(510) 436-1234
arguelles@hnu.edu

John Binkov, M.A.

Lecturer in Music
(510) 436-1330
binkov@hnu.edu

Roy Bogas, M.A.

Professor of Music
(510) 436-1330
bogas@hnu.edu

Wendell Brooks, M.A.

Lecturer in Music
(510) 436-1330
bogas@hnu.edu

Robert Cakebread, M.M.

Lecturer in Music
(510) 436-1330
cakebread@hnu.edu

Hyun Joo Chung, D.M.A.

Lecturer in Music
(510) 436-1330
chung@hnu.edu

Steve Hofer, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor and Chair of Music
(510) 436-1244
hofer@hnu.edu

Eric Howe, M.M.

Lecturer in Music
(510) 436-1330
howe@hnu.edu

Monroe Kanouse, M.A.

Lecturer in Music
(510) 436-1330
kanouse@hnu.edu

Cheryl Keller, M.M.

Lecturer in Music
(510) 436-1330
keller@hnu.edu

Anne Laskey, M.A.

Professor of Music
Director, Kodály Center for Music Education
(510) 436-1314
laskey@hnu.edu

Gail Needleman, M.M.

Lecturer in Music
(510) 436-1234
needleman@hnu.edu

IldikóThesz Salgado, Diploma

Lecturer in Music
(510) 436-1234
salgado@hnu.edu

Fran Smith, M.M.

Lecturer in Music
(510) 436-1234
fsmith@hnu.edu

Lee Steward, D.M.A.

Lecturer in Music
(510) 436-1330
steward@hnu.edu

Joy Tsai, M.M.

Lecturer in Music
(510) 436-1330
tsai@hnu.edu

Stephen Varney, M.M.

Lecturer in Music
(510) 436-1330
varney@hnu.edu

Matthew Walsh, M.M.

Lecturer in Music
(510) 436-1330
walsh@hnu.edu

Betty Woo, D.M.A.

Lecturer in Music
(510) 436-1330
woo@hnu.edu

More Information

Learn about the Admissions Process »
Review the University Catalog »
See our Course Schedules »
Meet HNU's Graduate Faculty »

Master's Degree Programs
Certificate Programs
Helpful Information
Getting Started
At Oakland’s Holy Names University we help you earn the confidence that comes with achieving a personal goal like continuing your education. Our San Francisco Bay Area programs are designed to provide a caring academic environment that can help students with career advancement. Click here to learn more about the application process and to find your Enrollment Counselor »
Take a class at HNU!
Interesting in just taking one or two classes without fully matriculating? You can do that, as a Special Status Student. Click here to learn how »