Subscribe to Historical HNU
Explore our archives on Flickr
Category Archives: Lake Merritt Campus 1868-1957
Sister Carol Sellman and Assistant Professor Anastasia Prentiss met with Dorothy Jean (DJ) Martin in June 2012 to discuss the alumna’s experiences after graduating from Holy Names College. Martin said that students were aware that World War II was coming during … Continue reading
Listen to the new audio on HNU’s historical blog. Remembering HNU: A Collection of Audio Recordings, is a new page on the blog that provides a glimpse into the history of the University. It currently features a recording of Sister … Continue reading
HNU music students sang the alma mater—Oh, Holy Names, All Hail!—at the 2014 celebration of Founders’ Day. The alma mater was written in 1942 by Sister Maria Dolores Mayerle.
The College of Holy Names hosted service women in its dormitory at 2036 Webster Street during World War II. The dormitory was located in the gymnasium and accommodated 30 women. Upon opening to the service women, the dormitory was visited … Continue reading
The HNU campus recently celebrated the anniversary of the arrival of the Sisters of Holy Names of Jesus and Mary in Oakland 146 years ago.
Check out the historical mural in the Michael and Maureen Hester Administration Building that documents HNU’s story—from the arrival of the first Sisters to the establishment of the college and its relocation to the Oakland Hills.
The text below is an excerpt of an interview with Sister Barbara Williams conducted on September 28, 2012, by Assistant Professor Anastasia Prentiss and Sister Carol Sellman. Minor edits have been made for clarity. Tell us why you decided to … Continue reading