Subscribe to Historical HNU
Explore our archives on Flickr
Tag Archives: Lake Merritt
College of the Holy Names Nuns on Lake Merritt, a photo by Holy Names University on Flickr.
In 1957 the entire college moved from Lake Merritt to the new campus on Mountain Boulevard. The old property was sold to Henry Kaiser, its buildings demolished to make way for the Kaiser Building. Above, some alumni and SNJM Sisters … Continue reading
College of the Holy Names music group pose in festive formal gowns, with trumpet and violin.
College of the Holy Names students and a Sister look on as a priest blesses a tree they are planting (we think! — let us know if you know more about this photo in the comments).
College of the Holy Names graduates pose on stairs of the school at the Lake Merritt campus.
The Convent of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart was built at 2036 Webster Street, where the Kaiser Building is currently located, in 1868. This lithographic reproduction of a marvelous etching by M. J. Phelan, an artist born in Ireland … Continue reading
Convent of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart 1873, a photo by Holy Names University on Flickr. Holy Names University’s story begins in 1868 when six Sisters of the Holy Names arrived in California from Montreal, Canada. The teaching order, … Continue reading