Holy Names University
HNU Homepage
Student Life
Holy Names University of Facebook
HawkEye - HNU Campus Calendar Associated Students of Holy Names University (ASHNU)
Club Advisor Information Club & Organizations Handbook

Expand your HNU experience by getting involved on campus!

Obtain University recognition for your club - check out the policy!

Learn, explore and have fun, both inside and outside the classroom. The International Student Services & Campus Events Coordinator collaborates with student clubs and organizations, faculty members, and staff to facilitate: theatre trips, class sponsored events, the annual Thanksgiving dinner, Unity through Diversity month, Hunger and Homelessness week, the Alpha Delta Awards, a wellness yoga series, dances and carnivals.

To propose a club, plan an event or discuss ways to get involved, please contact:

Lauren Avina
International Student Services & Campus Events Coordinator
(510) 436-1356
avina@hnu.edu

Clubs and Organizations

A Cappella Club

A group of talented young singers performing without accompaniment
Advisors: Aaron Garcia & Josh Redden
Student Leader Contact: Jayme Hanan: Jayme_Hanan@my.hnu.edu

ASHNU

Associated Students of Holy Names University- student government
Advisor: Chiho Sawada
Student Leader Contact: Katherine Hayes: Katherine_Hayes@my.hnu.edu

Black Student Union (BSU)

Organization uniting students around African American culture
Advisor: Kim Mayfield
Student Leader Contact: Raquel Ross: Raquel_Ross@my.hnu.edu

Bird’s the Word

HNU’s Newsletter
Advisor: Justin Vacca
Student Leader Contact: Destany Charles: Destany_Charles@my.hnu.edu

Drama Club

Organization supporting student interest in the performing arts
Advisor: Ann Alderman
Student Leader Contact: Destany Charles: Destany_Charles@my.hnu.edu

Latinos Unidos

Organization uniting students around Latin American culture
Advisor: Martivon Galindo
Student Leader Contact: Maria del Carmen: Carmen_DelgadoRodriguez@my.hnu.edu

Model United Nations (M.U.N.)

Students practice their diplomatic skills and compete with other schools
Advisor: Sr. Chris Patrinos
Student Leader Contact: Brandon Marzan: Brandon_Marzan@my.hnu.edu

Music Club

Organization supporting student interest in music
Advisor: TBD & Lindsay Litowitz
Student Leader Contact: TBD – E-mail Litowitz@hnu.edu for more information

Pacific Islanders Club

Organization uniting students around Pacific Island culture
Advisor: Sr. Chris Patrinos
Student Leader Contact: Sarah Peralta: Sarah_Peralta@my.hnu.edu

Peace and Justice Club

Organization promoting social justice at HNU and the Oakland community
Advisor: Javier de Paz & Maribel Lopez
Student Leader Contact: Yadira Munoz: yadira_munoz@my.hnu.edu

Psych! Club

Club to help Psychology majors succeed at HNU
Advisor: Kate Isaacson
Student Leader Contact: TBD

R.A.D.I.C.A.L.

Religious organization
Advisor: Sister Sophia
Student Leader Contact: Vernisha Williams: Vernisha_Williams@my.hnu.edu

Red Cross Club

Organization supporting first aid and campus blood drives
Advisor: Gregory Portillo
Student Leader Contact: Jasmine Martinez: Jasmine_Martinez@my.hnu.edu

Residence Hall Association (RHA)

Organization dedicated to meeting the needs of HNU’s residents
Advisor: Justin Vacca & Josh Redden
Student Leader Contact: TBD

Spirit & Cheer Club

Organization dedicated to promoting school spirit
Advisor: Andrea Melrose
Student Leader Contact: Destany Charles: Destany_Charles@my.hnu.edu

Student Athletic Advisory

Participants appointed by athletic coaches
Advisor: Omar Sanchez
Student Leader Contact: Jordynn Elwood: jordynn_elwood@my.hnu.edu

Students for Diversity

Organization dedicated to promoting equality and acceptance at HNU
Advisors: Lauren Avina & Lindsay Litowitz
Student Leader Contact: Bryton Charles: Bryton_Charles@my.hnu.edu

Young Entrepreneur’s Club

Organization dedicated to improving HNU’s campus and services
Advisor: James Stryker
Student Leader Contact: Brianna Horton: Brianna_Horton@my.hnu.edu

Start A New Club or Organization
Contact: Lindsay at Litowitz@hnu.edu

We are on on Facebook!

Follow HNU Student Activities and Events

▲ Top of Page ▲

Involvement
Learning Communities