Nonviolence and the Beloved Community

“The aftermath of violence is tragic bitterness, while the aftermath of nonviolence is the beloved community.” – Martin Luther King, Jr.

Martin Luther King’s Six Principles of Nonviolence

1. Nonviolence is a way of life for courageous people.
2. Nonviolence seeks to win friendship and understanding.
3. Nonviolence seeks to defeat injustice, not people.
4. Nonviolence holds that suffering for a cause can educate and transform.
5. Nonviolence chooses love instead of hate.
6. Nonviolence holds that the universe is on the side of justice and that right will eventually prevail.

Martin Luther King’s Six Steps to Social Change

1. Information Gathering
2. Education
3. Personal Commitments
4. Negotiation
5. Direct Action
6. Reconciliation and Healing Process

This entry was posted in Service and Justice. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>